How To Set Up Your Own Website

cjwest

I am a graphic artist and have gotten many inquiries from knife makers regarding designing their website. None of them have panned out because most knife makers are quite happy with what they can get for free or almost free. I prefer to work for more than minimum wage but would like to help out in some way. So following is a brief tutorial on how to use WordPress to set up your own website to sell knives. To do so you will need to purchase hosting and a domain name.

Set Up Your Website Account

I use www.godaddy.com with all of my clients. In my five years as a graphic artist, I’ve been quite satisfied with their customer service and pricing. There are others out there but godaddy.com is the only one I can recommend. Under the Hosting tab at godaddy, you will notice a link called WordPress Hosting. The economy plan is sufficient for most knife makers needs. Add this to your cart, search for and purchase an appropriate domain name, and check out. Ignore everything that godaddy wants you to purchase in addition to your hosting and domain names. Godaddy will guide you through the WordPress setup.

Set Up Your Website

There are thousands of WordPress themes out there and you can choose any of them you like. I have modified a theme called Linquist that is basic but functional. It fits most knife maker needs and of course is free. If you would like to see a demo of this theme click here. Download the theme here. Save the theme to your desktop but don’t unzip it. When you set up your account with godaddy, you provided them with a username and password for your wordpress account. Type your website address in the address bar. You should arrive at a login page. Enter your login information. Don’t forget that it is case sensitive.

Switch to a New Theme

In the left sidebar click Appearance. Click Add New Theme Click Upload. Click choose file and upload the file you downloaded earlier. Click Install Now.
Picture-8.png