3D CNC scales in G10 recommend a company

FGYT

Im looking to find a company that can 3D CNC some short runs of scales for military style Fixed blades for me this full sculpt not just profile and round the edge

im in the UK but it sort of makes sense to use a US company as it would save shipping of the Full sheets of G10 and Micarta here to turn most to Dust

Any ideas

ATB

Duncan

Duncan,

Do you already have a 3d file with surfaces (iges or step)? Or do you have a handmade prototype that you need digitized and then machined?

How many sets of each material are you planning to make?

(these are questions any shop will ask you)

Duncan

I have had no experience with this company as it is on your side of the ocean. But, you may want to look at their website and contact them to discuss your options. Just look at their section on knife stuff for the G-10.

http://www.ivoryalternative.com/index.html

DeMo

HI yes they are my Main supplier of small pieces here but they only sell sheet mainly in 6" x 12" UK knife industry for this sort of thing is basically dead I do

have a couple of local machine shops that I may try but that will be a learning curve
I also have the option of buying a small CNC mill that would fit 1pair at a time

But a company already doing similar work would be good I siupect these only exist in USA or far east

Duncan,

Do you already have a 3d file with surfaces (iges or step)? Or do you have a handmade prototype that you need digitized and then machined?

How many sets of each material are you planning to make?

(these are questions any shop will ask you)

Yes im a mechanical Design engineer so happy to talk to them about options for getting the IGES files etc
I will either draw them
or get scanned in the ones I make by hand
or send them to do it depending on how costs work out for each stage