Almost done with another one

believerjoe

I am still learning, and yes I had an issue with plunge lines. My grinder belt moves, but I just got some ceramic to add to it, but not before I had to turn this into a vanishing plunge line. Lol. I am very close to buying a real grinder. 1095 forged blade, but to me a ton of grinding to fix it. I left some hammer marks on purpose and actually wish there was more. Solid copper guards, elk antler , and Purple Heart. I still have a couple hours of finish work and then it will be done. The screw head will be filed out mostly and then filled with colored epoxy or something. Last thing I need to decide. Leather order is slow getting here, but will have a Sheath soon. I was going to etch the copper with something, but all my tests did not look good enough yet. I also have to set it in the sun for 4 or 5 hours so the purple heart turns purple. Looks a lot better when it has the color. Thoughts? What would you do different? I need to figure out something for spotting guards. That is my least favorite thing to do and this has two of them, although one was easier.

Attachments

• BA0C9A45-2450-4417-A536-CE85FC2AD625.jpeg
    BA0C9A45-2450-4417-A536-CE85FC2AD625.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 22
  • 0C670C75-8C39-4C0C-A18A-4BE42B681E3E.jpeg
    0C670C75-8C39-4C0C-A18A-4BE42B681E3E.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 22
  • D26CFD9F-182D-49C6-BA40-8A5245EE2FC6.jpeg
    D26CFD9F-182D-49C6-BA40-8A5245EE2FC6.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 23
  • 599EDF53-C831-4F56-B775-930055DD166C.jpeg
    599EDF53-C831-4F56-B775-930055DD166C.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 23
  • 044D59BF-C9C2-4E5B-A765-6C66999BADB4.jpeg
    044D59BF-C9C2-4E5B-A765-6C66999BADB4.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 22
  • 22A43CE0-D2DF-4A86-A806-4E3E479B9BEC.jpeg
    22A43CE0-D2DF-4A86-A806-4E3E479B9BEC.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 24