Anyone have this same problem??

C Craft

I have a Dewalt Portable Bandsaw, that I mounted to use in the vertical position with a table! I have been using it for a few years like that and it has always performed well. Till this last time I changed blades. When I changed the blade this past time I can't keep it from twisting. It seems to run out of the top guide OK but the bottom guide just below the table, it wants to run out of it, causing the blade to have a wicked twist at table level!!
It has been like this from the moment I put that blade on.
I swear it acts like the blade is just a hair to short. I have been running if like that a while. As I thought maybe the blade would stretch ever so slightly and start tracking better in the bottom guide.
If anything it may be getting worse and it is nearly impossible to make a straight cut now with it!! I can flip the release to install the blade push it back into the guides and as soon as it starts running again, the blade begins to walk out of the bottom guide and thus allowing it too twist!!

Anyone got any idea why this might be happening and how to remedy it??? I am trying to get the other pics back from Photobucket at present so this is the only pic I can come up with! There use to option to download the entire album from Photobucket but, I can't find it now!! I wonder if that is there solution to the photos you already had with them, when they began their extortion!!

000_1196.jpg

Last edited:
Porta-Bands have rubber "tires" on the drive and idler. If the blade feels too short, it's possible one of the tires swelled up (cutting oil got to it maybe?) and would also explain it throwing the vertical alignment off.

John I just replaced the tires. I will have to back and take a more in-depth look at what is going on!

Thanks for the insight. As I am sitting here thinking about this I am wondering if the bottom tire may be the culprit!!

Have you tried a different blade ?