Bushcraft heat treat

D Whitt

I’m working on my bushcraft knife and wondering how I should do the quench/ heat treat for a blade that will hold up to chopping and batoning wood..... will I benefit from a differential quench or will I lose strength .... any thoughts ...... I just normalized and did a differential quench and checked the blade on the edge and spine with a file and it cuts on the spine a little and it’s super hard on the edge ..... now I’m second guessing myself ..... should I leave it and go ahead with tempering or should I redo it and just quench the whole thing??????E8CB23E2-880E-44B4-B727-8608CC89582F.jpeg

Always temper, it depends on so many things, if you’re gonna baton firewood for some reason or beat on it and chop down trees I’d say temper At a higher temp, if you’re processing food keep the blade in the higher range. 350-500 is a big range but somewhere in there on a fully hardened blade should be acceptable. I’m no expert, nor have I ever made anything from 1095, just going by what I have seen other makers post

Yeah I’m definitely tempering I make all my knives from 1095 and I’ve got that process down ....that’s not my question my bad what I was really asking is about the differential quench whether or not it’s pointless or if I will gain some flexibility by doing it so my blade won’t snap if I get rough with it

Always temper, it depends on so many things, if you’re gonna baton firewood for some reason or beat on it and chop down trees I’d say temper At a higher temp, if you’re processing food keep the blade in the higher range. 350-500 is a big range but somewhere in there on a fully hardened blade should be acceptable. I’m no expert, nor have I ever made anything from 1095, just going by what I have seen other makers post
Maybe I drank more than I thought last night :rolleyes: