CNC WIP - small flipper.

BossDog

KnifeDogs.com & USAknifemaker.com Owner
Staff member
before you get too much into this thread, I am a beginner at CNC. I am slogging my way thru this after taking a few classes at the local tech school and watching lot's of videos on Youtube and a couple of the training sites.
Any suggestions and comments are welcome.
I am using a HAAS VF2, Mastercam and Solidworks.
If I was starting out from scratch today I would most likely go with Fusion360 for the CAM and CAD and it's likely I will move over to that in a year or two. The HAAS is overkill for me currently but there are plans for a few production parts and tools down the road so it will work out. I've seen guys putting out some amazing stuff with a bare bones Tormak mill.

trial fit on the first proto batch.
The blade point is a little high. It could easily be ground out during finishing but it's better to fix the design. I could shorten the arc or adjust the profile of the blade to better be in line with the top line on the liners. I'll adjust the blade profile since I like where the point is sitting.

Also the lock face on the blade needs another .050" to .075" of material. It's way past the lock bar on the liner. I intend to hand grind the lock up (and blade) since haven't figured out how to mill in the 8.5 degrees for the blade lock face.

back to mastercam to make the adjustments and run a few more.

The detent ball is a 2mm ceramic ball sitting .018" proud of the liner and the detent pocket hole is a #52 drill. I was concerned I wouldn't get much "snap" from the closed position with this small of lever but it's working fairly well. I hope I didn't jinx it for the next one by saying that.

IMG_3298.jpg

Last edited:
"ramp" into a slot like that Tracy. You should have the ability to "follow Path" for a ramp in. Most CAM programs will allow you to set the angle of attack...5 degrees is real gentle for a slot like that...

Oh...and...see how easy CNC is...LOL!

OK.