Dying leather

Todd Robbins

I'm preparing to dye a sheath with Even-Flo dark brown dye, and I'm wondering how much to thin it? It says to thin with water, and I tried a few test pieces to see the outcome. I did one without thinning, one mixed 1:1, and one mixed 2:1 (2 parts water, 1 part dye). I couldn't tell any difference in the penetration depth on any of the pieces after cutting them in two. The one mixed 2:1 took a little longer to get the color I wanted, but that was the only real difference between any of the pieces. I'm new at sheath making and need some help.

Thanks guys!

Hi Todd, I am assuming you're talking about ECO-FLO dyes from Tandy.I am sorry I can't help you with them as I won't use them.I have heard very few good results from people using them, and it's not just from newbie leatherworkers.Alot of the complaints,are due to uneven dyeing, and rubbing off badly.You can go here http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?? and search for some of the methods folks made it work.Good Luck.Dave

Todd,

Ive used eco-flo a couple times and didn't get good results. The best result I got came when using more water and less dye. I did get even coloring without streaks or blotches but the cost was getting a very light tan color instead of dark brown.

Christmas2008014.jpg

I'm with Dave on this one. I don't and won't use the Eco Flo. The only dyes I use are Feibing's Professional Oil Dye in dark Brown or Black, but I should also mention that I don't use dye period.....except on finished edges. I buy my leather pre dyed at the tannery, and if you use enough to make that logical then it's the only way to go as far as I'm concerned. I use russet, chestnut, brown, and black from Wickett and Craig and I haven't dyed a piece of leather in over three years.