Etch-O-Matic Stencil Making

will man

Hello All,

I just started trying to use an Etch-O-Matic I bought a few years ago and I'm having issues making the stencils. They seem to look good after exposure but when put in the developer, the pattern I want to etch dosen't go completely through the stencil. I'm assuming this is what is supposed to happen so that a have a complete path for current. I've got a stencil in developer now that I plan to leave overnight just to see if it will go through.
And I thought knifemaking was tough!!
Bryan

If I remember right there is a film on the stencil that has to be peeled off. Did you remember to do that?

Larry

I have been making my own etch-o-matic stencils for about 3 years now and it's still a frustrating hit-or-miss process. I found that the exposure time is critical but it's a guessing game to get the right exposue. The exposure time varies depending on the size of the font or how intricate the mark is. Usually it's 1 1/2 - 3 minutes but it seems like 30 seconds either way can make a big difference.

I have made some good stencils but I have also thrown away a lot failed attempts. I've had some that looked like it was a good stencil but wouldn't make a mark.

I have also ordered stencils from Marking Methods and I do think their stencils are better than anything I have made.

The Etch-O-Matics are good for one-of stencils for a special marking on a custom knife that doesn't justify the set up fee and cost of having one made professionally.

If I remember right there is a film on the stencil that has to be peeled off. Did you remember to do that?

Larry

Yes, there is a thin film of plastic on BOTH sides of the stencil that has to be removed before it goes into the developer. It's very hard to peel it off especially in a dark room.