Explain how Etching works?

remist17

As some of you may know I am relatively new to knife making. I was hoping someone can help explain how etching works and what is the best beginner setup to do this. I see alot of posting on etchomatics and others but I am not sure what I need to start out. I am currently using 1084 and stainless steel for my blades. Thanks.

I assume you mean etching a logo onto a blade as opposed to etching a hamon on carbon steel. It is very easy, cool, and fun to do on your own. You can buy the machines, personalizers they call them I think, or make your own. I made my own, but had Ernie make my stencils so they look pro. To make the stencil, you need tape, the better the tape the better! Cut your design/logo out of the tape, and then place the tape onto your blade where you want the logo. Pull out your cordless drill battery. Figure out which terminal is + and -. Usually the positive is towards the front of batter. Hook two wires from the batter, positive going to the blade, the negative going to a Qtip. Mix some etching solution .....brine and vinegar work well. Brine alone works well. Salt in water is all you need. Mix well. Dip the Qtip into the solution and then shake off excess. Apply the qtip to the logo you have cut out on the tape, quickly and briefly making swipes across the logo, like up one side, down the middle, up the other. Some sort of quick easy pattern. You should just barely hear the etching sizzle. Use Windex (ammonia) to negate the etch solution. Then take the tape off. Underneath will be a nice etched image. The machines are better, because the voltage is correct (18V batteries really will etch in a hurry....gotta be careful), and they also have a switch over to A/C which darkens the logo. They are nice to have, and they don't use stupid Qtips, but a nice pad. You can always make an etching pad yourself instead of Qtips. I don't do many knives all at once, so my homemade set up works quite well. Hope that helped