first knife

Brett Long

IMG_0044.JPG

IMG_0045.JPG

IMG_0046.JPG

this is my first attempt at a flat grind with my new no weld grinder. please give it a look over don't pull any punches lay it all out. i need you guys to tell me what i am doing wrong or right. probably not to much right. and what i should to to fix it.

thanks. so let it fly......unsure

Knife making is not just one knife and you are there?
It takes knife after knife after knife to become a good knife maker.
So do your best and than make some more. :)
Good luck.

Todd

Looks good and Mr. Davison nailed it. I think it's a never ending learning curve.

The knife looks good from what I can see. I am curious about the notch on the spine at the base of the blade. Does it have a purpose?

SDS

Looks good and Mr. Davison nailed it. I think it's a never ending learning curve.

The knife looks good from what I can see. I am curious about the notch on the spine at the base of the blade. Does it have a purpose?

SDS

I was curious about that notch also , looks like an easy way to peel off some thumb skin if not smoothed out .

I got an Idea , wrap the blade in a paper towel and let the mice pee on it , that seems to work well for a pattern etch huh1 :D

When the knife is finished , we will rip it apart for you if need be . Have fun .

Congrats on the new grinder!
Your grind looks good so far.
Its hard to tell with the dark pics though .

that notch is going to be filled in with a different metal. SS or bronze and my brothers initials on it. as for the etch if you could milk a couple of those mice let me know an i will give it a try.. and yes when it is done i would appreciate the look over and advice. good or bad. got to learn ya know