Help/input/suggestions for black walnut (Tru-oil) finish

P J 234

I haven't been doing all that much knife stuff lately but I'm finally close to finishing one and I'm not sure what to think about the wood finish I'm getting. This is natural black walnut (at least that's what it's supposed to be), and I'm applying a Birchwood Casey Tru-oil finish. This is my first time working with both materials.

I closely followed the directions that came with the Tru-oil, doing the pore filling step twice and then applying a finishing coat which is where things currently stand. Photographing the wood is very difficult, and it's even harder now that the finish is quite glossy. From a straight side profile of the knife, the wood looks quite porous despite my pore filling steps, and I also need to move the handle all around at different angles to better see the grain/depth/chatoyance/luster (sorry, I don't know all the proper wood terms, but hopefully it's clear what I'm trying to say.) For these 3 pics, one was taken in direct sunlight and 2 more in the shade outdoors. In the sunlight more of the grain is visible as are the pores, in dimmer light everything is much more subdued.

Is there something different I need to do to properly fill the pores, and/or finish this wood, or does it look like it's been done correctly? Also, does this indeed look like black walnut? I do plan to knock the gloss down once cured as it's a bit shiny for my tastes, but I'm not sure how much different it's going to look afterwards.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Attachments

• P1020123.JPG
    P1020123.JPG
    43 KB · Views: 65
  • P1020142.JPG
    P1020142.JPG
    84.2 KB · Views: 60
  • P1020143.JPG
    P1020143.JPG
    76.2 KB · Views: 63