I Need Some Dog Training!!??? Help

Kris Martinelli

I love and enjoy repairing and customizing knives. This knife I don't know what to do with. This knife below was in a house fire. It came to me rusted and burnt and the sheath is very burnt and rock solid. I am an ex-paramedic firefighter so I know the heat hit this thing and then it got drowned in water. Confirmed by Client. The person gave it to me and doesn't care what I do with it. He is sad, because it was hand made in Africa which he bought it there twenty years ago.

I first soaked it in Mineral Oil and wrapped the knife in an air tight bag for about three weeks. It came out unique as seen in picture. The questions..I need ideas..oh and the girl in the picture is my wife so don't make fun of her.LOL

1. Should I leave the knife the way it is, because it did survive a hot house in which the house was fried? Should I take and polish off all the rust and leave the handle and pommel which is fried. The handle is Ebony and is hard as a rock. Should I replace pommel and just polish the hole damn thing without sanding it. or I could put it back to better than original? PS the knife is not warped at all.

2. Can burnt rock hard leather be restored........should I soak it in mineral oil or saddle soap??? Or make a knew sheath. The Client want's me to do what I want! I am lost! Never had a fire burnt knife...

Knife-Burnt.jpgBurnt-Sheath-and-Knife.jpg

What would you do?? I am not a knife smith......I am just Carol Shelby with a mustang and I am lost with this one??? Help!

Thanks Dogs Have a Great Holiday,

Kris

I think I saw that model on the Price Is Right.

I'de leave both alone and inbed them in a block of modeling epoxy....there's an interesting story there or at least some memories.

Rudy