Idea's for scrap steel!

opaul

This is my first attempt at this and after trying it I need to move the opener forward for more leverage. I plan on making a bunch of these and give them out for Christmas gifts. Any improvement ideas other than moving the opener forward? I know the holes aren't centered but I eyed them in for a quick prototype.

If you have any golfing buddies. Here is another idea for smaller pieces of scrap steel, wood, and antler.

DSC03513.jpg

Kevin - They are a ball repair tool used for fixing greens in golf. After you hit the green with a ball it leaves a dimple. You use the tool to fix that dimple.

opaul - In looking at your design, I would suggest that you move the opener portion forward as you suggest. I would also change the opener from a simple circle to a more pronounced claw on the hook end transitioning to a more subtle middle of the bottle cap flat spot. Also, make the opener end usable to open a can as opposed to a bottle. More of a duel purpose opener. women hate using their fingernails to open a can of soda/beer. Once you move the opener forward, you will have a nice open spot for a name, initials, or emblem. Perhaps your mark on one side and a user name/initials on the other. It will make the gift even more special to the recipient. Also, consider adjusting the connection area for attachment to a set of car keys instead of the cord. Just a thought, or two, or three, maybe four. You have a good idea...