information on USMC KABAR Fighting Knife, Camillus 12"

knives4me

Hello all, I am pleased to be part of the forum, I am also a newbie to collecting these knives. Can you all help with information on are these knives, are both from Vietnam or reproductions how can one tell if they original?

Attachments

• s-l1600 (4).jpg
    s-l1600 (4).jpg
    143.7 KB · Views: 43
  • s-l1600 (6).jpg
    s-l1600 (6).jpg
    102.1 KB · Views: 7
  • s-l1600 (7).jpg
    s-l1600 (7).jpg
    103 KB · Views: 7
  • s-l1600 (8).jpg
    s-l1600 (8).jpg
    234 KB · Views: 9
  • s-l1600 (9).jpg
    s-l1600 (9).jpg
    256.4 KB · Views: 10
  • s-l1600 (10).jpg
    s-l1600 (10).jpg
    164.3 KB · Views: 10
  • s-l1600 (11).jpg
    s-l1600 (11).jpg
    260.7 KB · Views: 8
  • s-l1600 (13).jpg
    s-l1600 (13).jpg
    192.4 KB · Views: 6
  • s-l1600 (14).jpg
    s-l1600 (14).jpg
    228.7 KB · Views: 6
  • thumbnail (7).jpg
    thumbnail (7).jpg
    58 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:
I have been contemplating polishing my Ka-Bar fighting knife. Does this change the collectability of the knife or ruin the knife-like cleaning a coin would devalue the coin?

Attachments

• thumbnail (5).jpg
    thumbnail (5).jpg
    59.6 KB · Views: 1
  • thumbnail (6).jpg
    thumbnail (6).jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 1
Any time you remove the patina from a collectible you remove the collector value. But the reality is that KaBars (most military surplus for that matter) don’t have much collector value on their own. They made many millions of them. They’re still in production.

Unless you can tie this particular knife to an event or a famous soldier there’s no real monetary value. The bright side is you can recondition it to your liking and and it will be worth about the same amount, but if you do it likely will never be considered collectible. I wouldn’t lose an ounce of sleep over that, though.