Just a couple of welding tips

Drew Riley

Given the recent welding table thread, I thought I'd make a video on a couple of tips that have dramatically helped the quality of my welding setup and results. If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen these tips already.
Just to be clear, I'm not a professional or certified welder by any means, but I've welded enough to know what helps and what doesn't, and being able to see is a big part of that:

Summary: Add a cheap headlamp to your welding hood. Also add a shroud over the back (use FR material!) to block out external lights, glare, and reflections. UV light is no joke, and it can burn your eyes even while wearing a helmet.
Finally, I mentioned a $40 hood that I'd put up against some of the $200 hoods I've used in the past. Is it the best hood out there? No, but it's really good for $40.

Here's a link if anyone is interested: https://amzn.to/3nCjYkL

Last edited:
I'll be trying your light idea to see how it works. The cover over back of hood - why didn't I ever think about that myself after all these years of welding. I guess perhaps most of my welding used to be inside with so much problem with rear lights, but now welding outside that light coming in from rear is really bad. I WILL be adding a rear cover.

Another word about those auto darkening hoods - WOW!! They are GREAT. I remember back in '90s when I used one for the first time it was amazing, but they cost several hundred bucks back then. I've been using this one for the last yr or so and like the large lenses on it. It does cost a tad more https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073PY7F68/