Knife bevels without a plunge line...My take

Johan Nel

I have seen on especially kitchen knifes, mostly the Japanese style knifes, but also a number of western types that did not have any visible plunge lines showing, and this has intrigued me quite a bit.
I had a bird and trout knife planned, and I started toying around with the idea of making it without any plunge lines. Being a total newbie in terms of knife making, and with no specific idea on how to achieve this, I had commented on one of John Wilson's threads about my idea. John gave a description of how he executes this on his kitchen knives. Dennis Morland also kindly directed me towards some youtube videos on this. Once I had viewd the videos I felt comfortable enough to try this out for myself.
First off, I need to point out that I do not have a belt grinder of any sort, but do most of the stock removal with a filing jig and hand filing.
Secondly, the blade that I am working on had some faults to it, so if I screwed this up, it would not be a train smash, but I would have gained some experience in the process.
I had done the basic profiling of the blade a while ago, so what I did next was to determine the procedure to follow. I decided to determine a diagonal line across the ricasso area from the choil area to the back of the blade up to where I would file, but not beyond.
20171115_071640.jpg
This I carefully measured out on both sides and marked out.
Once I had done that I set up the blade in the file jig and started filing away going up the blade in increments.
20171116_194219.jpg
Constantly watching both the progess upwards to the back of the blade and towards the line I had drawn as well as the blade edge itself.
20171116_195423.jpg

Last edited:
The blade is a hardened steel, so filing this was quite an effort. I had really built up a sweat after each session. This is how it progressed:
20171116_194257.jpg
20171116_194707.jpg

Attachments

• 20171116_194716.jpg
    20171116_194716.jpg