Large diameter grinding wheel build.

Lyon

I have been wanting to get a proper grinder built and was fortunate to be able to get my hands on a couple of wheels. I am lucky to live close to Bruce Bump and he had come across some 20 inch band saw wheels that were begging for a new life :biggrin:. The wheels were 20X1.4 ish. Bruce was wanting them for a 1 inch belt so he traded me a couple of wheels for milling down a couple for him.

Next step is to get them shipped out to http://www.sunray-inc.com/ and have some rubber put on.

There isn't a whole lot in info on making large diameter grinding wheels so I figured I would get it posted up. The rubber work was quoted out at 100$ per wheel which doesn't seem bad at all when a 14 inch new wheel will run an easy 400$. The biggest draw back is getting any machine work done which I am fortunate to be able to do myself. I think this is the first time that the compound rotary table has actually saved me money :D. (I am a hobbyist not a machinist.)

Attachments

• IMG_20150130_163625_889.jpg
    IMG_20150130_163625_889.jpg
    151.8 KB · Views: 111
Last edited:
I hope this works. It would seem like a cheaper way for a large diameter wheel...

Hey Matt,
Thanks for posting up the wheel project.
I came across 4 of these, they are industrial size 20" and high quality. I've been thinking about making more slip joints and think the narrower 1" wheel should give me a precise crisp grind on the small blades. I like the looks of the slight hollow grind a big wheel gives. I'm also thinking a smaller horse power DC motor with a variable speed control is all thats needed for the light weight application here.

This is a "neat" project. I would love to have a large 1" wide wheel to work with. The 1" wheel allows for easy grinding of inside curved blades and that 20" wheel will certainly give that "reserved" hollow grind I like so much.
Frank