Lawn mower blade steel

sicilian767

So, this is a question to get y'alls input on something I've been getting mixed reviews on, and that's lawn mower blade steel. I've heard some people say it's medium to high carbon steel, other people say it's junk for making knives. My guess is it's a mild steel, like 1055 or around there, but if that's the case then it would make a good machete. I got three old blades, so I was curious if any of y'all knew what kind of steel it is? I've never worked with it before. But if it isn't a medium or high carbon steel, then I'll probably use it to practice making blades on once I get an anvil regardless.

The blades make good enough knives. Old chainsaw bar is good too. They're a "mystery" steel but fits the definition of a knife well enough. Throwing some really ballpark figures out, they're usually a medium carbon with possibly other alloying metals engineered for cheapness to fabricate and durability. Edge holding in the designed product is a long ways down the line of what they're built for, but they'll sharpen up and cut well enough. Your 1055 machete is built from the same hardening class of steel as a lot of mass market knives that are "good enough". As for an anvil, those blades should be thin enough you can just remove what's not a knife from them. I'm going to grossly oversimplify here, but if you take them to 1500 degrees or a little past non magnetic with a warm canola oil quench, leave them a little heavier at the edge than you plan on the finished product being to help prevent warping, make sure a file won't bite after the quench so you know you "nailed it" and a 375 2 hour temper, you should be good to go.