Length of your handle

C Craft

I have been a carpenter all my life! When I did a lot of framing I swung a 220z. framing hammer all day, day in and day out. One thing I learned is let the hammer do the work.

I have a 2lb. that has a 16" handle and my 4lb. has an 18" handle. From experience using the handle to let the hammer do the work!

I had a friend tell me I was killing myself with those longer handles. From my experience, I have no problem controlling the hammer and it lets the weight do the work instead of me having to do it!!So having said that what length do you like your forging hammers to have!

So having said that what length do you like your forging hammers to have!

Personally, all the forging hammers I build use standard 16" "blacksmith" hammer handles. Different people like different lengths (and shapes) of handles....with the wooden handles is very simple to shape and/or cut the handle to suit the individual.

The most common error that people make with forging hammers is how they hold/use them. Most folks "learn" how to hammer something with a framing/claw hammer. They tend to use it by gripping the handle and placing a thumb on the back of the handle.....if you do that with a forging hammer for very long, it's a sure ride to carpel tunnel. A forging hammer should be held loosely in the hand, with the thumb wrapping around the handle, touching tip to tip with your fingers. Repeatable control and accuracy are the keys to using a forging hammer. To that end it's also important to realize/understand that when swinging a forging hammer, short. rhythmic, controlled blows yield far better results then swinging for the fences. :)

Thanks for the answer Ed. Back when I use to frame continually, I remember seeing some guys use the thumb. Even back then I always tried to discourage my guys from doing that!! It is not a good thing to do even with that weight of hammer.