New Maker Donation Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eliminite

I am hoping to get my hands on a heat treating oven:)

They're pretty damn expensive and I want to get the ball rolling on this.
If anyway has anything at all they can spare maybe we can work something out, I am a graphic designer by trait and keep myself busy with working on things for my knife company I am starting: eliminiteedge.com, facebook.com/eliminiteedge,

add me on twitter elliotfox@eliminiteedge, or facebook Elliot Fox

I am sure there are some other young guns out there as well, so I would like to benefit everyone, if any other new makers out there would like to post in this thread maybe we can get some old geezers helping us out.

thanks guys

Self Made Knives

Elliot, first off I'm not trying to be a jerk, but have you even made a knife yet? You've asked questions about just about every process of making one, but I don't recall you ever showing one. Reason I'm asking, it's good to be fired up about the idea and research everything, but before you spend a bunch of money I think you should build a knife or two, maybe the hard way with just hand tools, make sure this is something you're going to like.

I'm hesitant to even suggest this, but it is how I started. I have an Evenheat with Rampmaster now and it is freakin awesome! But, before I was fully committed to this hobby, I heat treated my first few blades, even a stainless one, in a pottery kiln. It sucked, but it worked. I measured the temp accurately with a multi-meter and thermocouple stuck through the side and just sat there on the knob keep the temp adjusted. I've seen them go as cheap as $10 at auctions, and saw a couple on craigslist for around $100. There are lots of guys build their own too.