Hi everyone I hope all is well with everyone. Just want to introduce myself. I’m Dave friends call me Lefty. I work full time on a farm/cattle operation in South Dakota. I have been blacksmithing for over 20 years but got interested in knife making about 2 years ago. So far I have only made a few knives for friends and family.

here are a couple of knives that I've made. The first 2 pics are of an EDC the first knife I ever made. the second is the first and only folder that I will probabally make, it was a gift for my father-in-law.

Attachments

• knife1.jpg
    knife1.jpg
    41 KB · Views: 12
  • knife2.jpg
    knife2.jpg
    46.7 KB · Views: 15
  • knife3.jpg
    knife3.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 17
  • knife4.jpg
    knife4.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 16
That is a great way to introduce yourself Lefty. I have been making crossdraw sheath like your one with the one difference being that I have had the back piece being the full skirt with the belt slots. My idea was that it would put less bend strain on the leather but your version certainly looks good with the full skirt being on the front as well. I will continue doing it my way for the larger JT Ranger knives but may re-think the idea, especially on the smaller knives although I think that a single full skirt is sufficient.
CmmdMzhl.jpg

Love the blade shape on the folder and like you I have made just the one and probably no more.

That is a great way to introduce yourself Lefty. I have been making crossdraw sheath like your one with the one difference being that I have had the back piece being the full skirt with the belt slots. My idea was that it would put less bend strain on the leather but your version certainly looks good with the full skirt being on the front as well. I will continue doing it my way for the larger JT Ranger knives but may re-think the idea, especially on the smaller knives although I think that a single full skirt is sufficient.
CmmdMzhl.jpg