New RPI 2X72

Gliden07

Well gents I bit the bullet and ordered a 2X72 from Reeder Products! Bought the Basic machine. Ordered some Lightning Wheels from Oregon Blades. Looking for the motor now. I work in the electrical field and have quote requests out for a 2HP 3PH motor. Next will be the AC drive. Probably gonna be a KBAC-27 as they seem to be the only relatively affordable one just under $400 with shipping. Onto belts now!! Got to save some more and sell some more!! Still I'm broke again but excited!!

Last edited:
Check out automation direct for a motor if your quotes don't work out. Their IronHorse line is very good for a grinder. A 2hp 56C frame 3 phase 3600 rpm is $152

I sure will! I got a price from one of my suppliers $238 delivered to my location and it's a Marathon Motor. Got a price from Baldor knocked me off my stool!! Cost was $479!! Told rep I could buy it online for less their attitude was "go ahead".

Just wanted to update my post. I'm not a motor expert, but the one they had for $152 is 3600 rpm, they also have a 1800 rpm for $204. I believe and someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but the 1800 rpm will have more torque and would be less likely to bog down when you are hogging metal with a 36 grit. I do believe both will work fine for your grinder though. I have 2 of the 2hp 1800 rpm and they work just as good as my leeson with the same specs.

Just wanted to update my post. I'm not a motor expert, but the one they had for $152 is 3600 rpm, they also have a 1800 rpm for $204. I believe and someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but the 1800 rpm will have more torque and would be less likely to bog down when you are hogging metal with a 36 grit. I do believe both will work fine for your grinder though. I have 2 of the 2hp 1800 rpm and they work just as good as my leeson with the same specs.