New to Bolsters

Diamond G Knives

Well I cant say Im NEW to them, just haven't done them in a long time.
Whats the most popular route?

Drill thru the bolster and thru the blade, then taper ream the bolster to get a good shoulder for the pin to swell into?

Also Ive always silver soldered in the past, Ive read where folks were using JB weld. Any issues with a black line from the JB?

Im planning on using 304 stainless, will ordering 304 flat and pins from the same supplier help to keep the pins from showing? Guess Im asking is all 304 the same?

Thanks and God Bless
Mike

Hay Mike, use the orig. JB-it's gray.
Don't forget to oversize your holes through the blade.
When I get mine peened, I give each side a couple good hits to swell the shank inside. Haven't had any trouble {unless I get careless}
Jerry

Mike I drill my blade first,the use a small drop of super glue to attach one side of the bloster,then drill through it,use a nother drop of super glue to attach the other and drill back through.That way all holes line up.Then a small rap on the vice and the bolster fall off.I then put pins in the bolsters and shape the fronts and polish then square the backs and then attach to the knife.I also use the orig.JB wels.just a very small amount.
Stan

Mike I drill my blade first,the use a small drop of super glue to attach one side of the bloster,then drill through it,use a nother drop of super glue to attach the other and drill back through.That way all holes line up.Then a small rap on the vice and the bolster fall off.I then put pins in the bolsters and shape the fronts and polish then square the backs and then attach to the knife.I also use the orig.JB wels.just a very small amount.
Stan

Same method here.