Noob mistakes don't be afraid.

Ty Adams

KNIFE MAKER
There has been a lot of talk here about mistakes that new knife makers make. Being a noob myself it is hard to give advice to other new makers. Mistakes happen..... At every step they happen. Try to fix the mistakes you might surprise yourself. What you do with those mistakes can be a learning experience. Or it can hurt you.

Almost every knife that I wreck I try to turn into a positive. They get tested. Is my heat treat good? .10 or .20 at the edge? Would one be better for an EDC or a hunter. Convex edge or straight bevel? What degree to sharpen them at. 220 grit or 600 grit when sharpening.

What happens when you throw it at a tree 300 times. ( I'm not a ninja.) Will your 4" blade hold up to being batoned through a 4X4 oak board. (Yes but it's not easy.) How did the edge hold up? Did it roll or chip.

Don't know if your glue up process is good. Test it. Hot roll material and trim boards from Lowe's are cheap.

IMG_20170516_192302484.jpg

Mistakes happen.... Don't be afraid.

Ty

That is a good looking pile of misfits. I think every knife maker has one or two of those in their shop.

Just remember, you cannot fail if you do not try.

DeMo

Sage advice Ty.

Also, there is no such thing as newbie mistakes or intermediate mistakes or experienced mistakes.....there are just mistakes. They're not exclusive to newbies. :D

The ONLY difference between a GOOD Knifemaker, and any other Knifemaker is this..... A GOOD Knifemaker knows how to minimize or hide their mistakes.

We all make mistakes, no matter the level of experience. Personally, that's what's kept me so stoked about knifemaking for so many years.....every single day that I walk into the shop, I learn something new. If you're personality demands that everything be "right", all the time, then knifemaking probably isn't for you. :) It's all about the "race"....not about the "finish". :)

Just remember, you cannot fail if you do not try.

DeMo