Old lineman, new knife maker.

Mike Harrison

Hello everybody, my name is Mike and I've been a power lineman for many years and just getting started good in knife making. I'm trying to get some decent equipment so I will be ready to get more serious when I retire in a couple of years. I started playing around doing some blacksmith items and have now made a few knives as well. I live down on the Southern border of Az. There are some really good knife makers in the area that I had planned on getting some training from but a little fight with cancer slowed me down. Now ready to get started again. I have a 2 burner gas forge, an old post vise, an old peter wright anvil and a new KMG grinder. I also have a wire feed welder and torch so I'm pretty well set up for a beginner. I am looking into getting a press while I still have a good paying job. I've been looking online at the uncleal 24 ton press from Riverside. Anyone know much about these presses.? I also have a good wood splitter but don't really want to convert it. Thanks.

Welcome to KD! I can't answer any of your questions, but would really love to see some pictures of your knives!

I've got pics of my first one which I forged out of a railroad spike that isn't perfect but was fun to do. I also have pics of a couple more I made for my grandkids. They are on my phone so I'll have to figure out how to post them.

Welcome! Sorry to hear about your bout with cancer. That's really rough. I have heard that the Uncle Al presses are some of the best around but I haven't ever used one so take that with a grain of salt. Sounds like you have a good setup!

I've got pics of my first one which I forged out of a railroad spike that isn't perfect but was fun to do. I also have pics of a couple more I made for my grandkids. They are on my phone so I'll have to figure out how to post them.
We all started some where! If you need help posting pictures off your phone I can help. My phone is the only camera I have.