Press or hammer?

jmforge

I have been using my arguably less than adequate press for like 12 years and it’s time for something new. All things being equal like neighbor and noise factors, which do you think would be better if most of my work would be either forging blades or forge welding relatively simple Stuff like random and ladder Damascus and san Mai? Would say a 55 pound Anyang with flat/combo dies give you a better chance of forging a San mai billet and blade and keeping the core centered compared to say a coal iron forge 16 ton plus? I don’t necessarily see myself doing much in the way of even simple mosaic in the future as I haven’t done any for seven or eight years.