Recent problem with knives cracking post heat treat.

Hi there! I'm new to this forum, but I've been forging knives for about 2 years, and blacksmithing about 6 months longer than that. I've been selling my knives for just over a year.

But recently I've been having a lot of problems with my knives cracking. Not all of them, but enough that it's really causing me a problem. It usually happens during or after finish grinding. But not always. It usually happens in the ricasso area, but not always. And I've been adjusting what I've been doing to try to stop it.

First, all of my knives are forged and heat treated in my forge. I use a pipe or square to attenuate the heat for the quench. And all of this cracking steel has been 80CrV2.

Since the problem started I've taken to annealing the steel (mostly to make drilling pins easier). I put all my forged knives in the forge at once, get them up to temperature, and then turn off the propane.

It's not a cold shut. The last crack happened on a forged bevel. And one of the first things I learned was how to avoid making cold shuts.

I've gone from rough grinding to ~100 grit, up to ~120 grit. And I've started dressing up all edges with 240+ grit to make them smoother and avoid any cracks there.

I've gone from 1 normalizing cycle post grind pre-heat treat to 2 (or more if I think I have the propane).

I temper my knives in my oven on half sized firebricks. 2 x 2 hours. I went from just putting them in there, to sanding a little bit to make sure it's hitting the right tempering colors. And I went from finishing all my quenches in a batch, then putting them in the oven, to getting the oven already going, and putting the knives in individually immediately after each is quenched.