"Repairing" Damascus etch

KentuckyFisherman

I'm finishing up a boning knife made on a blank from Alabama Damascus. On one side of the blade, just in front of the scale, I screwed up and sanded some of the Damascus finish. I realize I probably can't match the original etching, but can I regain at least some of the Damascus pattern in that area using something like lemon juice or cider vinegar? FYI, I'm a noob and this knife is for use in my own kitchen, not for sale or even a gift for someone else. I just want to make this boogered area look better, not 100% right. Hope that makes sense.

Near anything acidic will darken it. Try a dab of yellow mustard just on the shiny part and wipe it thin enough to see through. Let it set a bit and wash it off.

What Todd said. I have used a Q-tip soaked in the original etchant to patch a knife or two. Hold the wet q-tip on the shiny area, check, wash and apply till you are happy. Just be careful of your scale some acids will change the color of some materials.