Simple sheath build along

Dennis Morland

KNIFE MAKER
I have had several members ask me leather related questions. I am more than willing to help you out if I can. At best, I am an advanced novice. So take my advice with that in mind.

I am going to be making a very simple sheath for a knife that I just completed. I will post pictures and comments on how I build this sheath. Others may differ on their opinions and techniques. Please feel free to post in this thread, ask questions, and share information.

A bit of background. This is the first knife and sheath that I completed. It was finished sometime in January, 2012. I will post it to show we all had to start somewhere. I started at the very bottom. No where to go but up. There are so many things that I could have done better. Way too many to point out.

Another reason for posting this sheath, I will be making a similar one in this thread

BB8-BFA29-6-E9-F-409-A-AC20-CAAD4078674-E.jpg

B5751-BA8-04-C1-46-D0-998-F-4-DA65-F1-DECD5.jpg

00777-D87-3689-41-F0-9-C42-01-C5102-FE478.jpg

This is the knife that needs a sheath. Not finished yet. It needs to be sharpened and a final clean up. I do not like to have a sharp knife without a sheath. So I make the sheath before sharpening.

64-CE9-BF0-C2-A8-4282-B276-0391-DF0-AC4-BD.jpg

I stole this quote from John Doyle. He was talking about simple full tang knives. The same wisdom holds true for the simple sheath that goes with them.

“If you can CONSISTENTLY nail down clean lines, nice curves, good flow/proportions/symmetry and nice fit/finishes, you'll be a MUCH better maker for it on more complex pieces.

And in my opinion, there isn't much point moving on to more complex work if you haven't got a good grasp on the above basics.”

With that inspiration, we shall start with the basics.