Small hunter in Ironwood w/ SS bolsters

P J 234

Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting my work here. I'm a relatively new maker with this being my 8th completed knife. In the interest of improving at the craft, I would value any feedback, critique, good/bad/ugly that anyone is willing to share on the knife and/or sheath. This was my first try at stainless bolsters, and also my first multi-colored sheath (a big thanks to Josh Dabney for giving me some excellent tips on how to do the 2 dye colors.)

I would also like to give a big thanks to Mike Mooney (www.moonblades.com) for his help with this knife and for allowing me to spend time in his shop recently. Mike is a local maker who makes beautiful knives and is also a heckuva nice guy to boot, and I've learned a lot from him in a short period of time. I had managed to get to the point where I had the bolsters peened on and thinned down some, but I really struggled with how to go about shaping them. Mike invited me over (twice!) to show me how he does it, and also helped me to buff the handles when it was all done (I don't yet own a buffer, nor did I know how to use one.)

Knife Specs:

-1/8" flat ground O1 steel, hand sanded to 600x (or was it 1000x???)
-stainless bolsters, mosaic pins, and thong tube
-AZ Desert Ironwood handle scales (they are not bookmatched, but they were inexpensive and allow me to practice with my favorite handle material, so I'm OK with that.)
-blade length is ~ 3 1/4"
-overall length is ~ 7 1/4"

Sheath:

-7/8 oz Wickett & Craig veg tan shoulder
-Black and Dark Brown Fiebings Pro Oil dye with Tandy Satin Sheen top coat
-tooling pattern is one I have seen on some of Paul Long's sheaths...I hope I have not stolen his trademarked design!

P1010598.jpg

P1010619.jpg

P1010629.jpg

P1010621.jpg

P1010631.jpg

P1010611.jpg