Some ‘Smith logic I’m speaking on.

One Armed

This has been on my mind quite some time. I think most know, but I’ll say just in case. I’m not a Smith. I have use of only my right arm/hand..my left being 100% paralyzed. And while I’ve given it a thought, just more problematic tool than I’d like to dabble in. I’m a knife Maker. I’m not an artist. I make super high performance knives for what they can do. And while I do sell, I’m not doing it for money. It’s a passion...a hobby. I sell knives to basically feed the habit. Keep me in supplies, what not. That said, I warranty every knife. I do not make knives AS a profession, but I DO make knives professionally! My Warranty stands, “If any knife fails due to use OR abuse, it’s covered.... If the blade is cut in half with a torch, IT’S COVERED!” One of my long time patrons told me the other day he was “testing” one of the knives I made him by pounding the blade deep in a tree and standing on it. Then forcing his weight down onto the handle. LOL! But I digress.

Although I am not a Smith in practice, I have studied it’s aspects for years. I research about every aspect as if I were a Knifesmith. Being disabled and in pain every day affords quite ample time for research. I truly would love to delve into the practice, just for the fun of it. And I can absolutely appreciate the artistry at work. But through my years of research, there have been some things I’ve found to be well, folklore being a nice way of putting it. I’ve found in recent years, some of these aspects have made there way into the firearms industry. Although simply a knife MAKER, I am in fact a Gun-Smith. Again, just as hobby not profession. My concern is with the very thing that makes a knifesmith just that...the Forging.