Stainless steel Damascus: elemental migration as measured on scanning electron micros

tapforge

So here's the story, my friend William Brigham, makes this awesome stainless steel Damascus out of aeb-l and 304 stainless steel. I'm a machine shop manager and instructor for university of California Irvine engineering school as such I have access to a some really cool research equipment, and I have made friends with multiple materials science graduate students. Awesome combo for a bladesmith, knifemaker!
So here is more info than u bargained for:
Material AEB-L and 304 stainless steels forge welded together in a purged argon container at 2350*F for multiple hours forged under a 30 ton press (thanks William!) here are some sem scans and some hardness testing (can't see carbon on sem) so we can ascertain carbon migration via hardness testing comparisons.
53fbb6fd1c3e3282f9868d5c47631308.jpg

58f8c1b3b562ac92ff29e783485a296e.jpg

e16cb12a60f573a1855c951236728d12.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That is all fascinating, but give us some explanation of each photo, such as what is the big white spots?

What about the last graph - what is it showing us other than the elements in sample? Why does the Ni go from high on graph to low on graph? The scale on bottom of graph that goes from 0 ti 200, what units is that?

Ken H>

That is all fascinating, but give us some explanation of each photo, such as what is the big white spots?

What about the last graph - what is it showing us other than the elements in sample? Why does the Ni go from high on graph to low on graph? The scale on bottom of graph that goes from 0 ti 200, what units is that?

Ken H>

Hi Ken,