Try #2

springer82

Well,,,, this turned out better then my first sheath. A little. lol,,,, The stiching could have come out better. The stamping was better then the first. All in all I'll keep it. Or in this case give it away. Any and all recommendations on keeping the stiching straight from one side to the other are welcome.

Attachments

• 20190213_190934.jpg
    20190213_190934.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 34
  • 20190213_190914.jpg
    20190213_190914.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 35
looks nice! I've had that same stitching issue before....I found that I was zigging when I should have been zagging in a way. You need to make sure your needle enters/exits at the same spot each time. If you pull downward on one stitch but upward on the others, they will be "wonky". I'm having a hard time splaining it but maybe that will at least help some. I think it's more of a feel kind of thing but there's some logic to it. I've been doing leatherwork for a few years and still lose focus sometimes on long straps or belts.

The stamping is great and overall it's a great sheath.

Dale

Looks great! That’s a heck of a second try... heck of a tenth one for that matter. I’m really impressed with your tooling. Keep at it; you’re going to get better and better. Good job!

One thing to do when you get a hole out of line if you are punching them with an awl is to get a leather carving spoon and smooth out the the out of line hole and repunch the hole. Just make sure than your stitching needle goes through the right hole when you stitch it up,

Doug

I’ve got no advice because I don’t do my own sheaths but I think your sheath looks great. The knife also looks great.

Last edited:
Hat's off you ya! I gnash my teeth every time I have to make a sheath. Things might be better when I get a bit healthier, and am able to use the Tippmann, but overall..... I just hate dead cow hide. :)