Why no 440c?

bodam

I'm new to knife making, and typically buy only 400c, mostly for cost, and because Texas Knife Makers only air quench.

I never see see any other custom makers using 400c.

Is is there a reason? If it's inferior as a knife blade, is there a better steel that is air quench? I'd prefer to not ship out for HT right now, since I'm keeping cost down as a new builder.

I'm new to knife making, and typically buy only 400c, mostly for cost, and because Texas Knife Makers only air quench.

I never see see any other custom makers using 400c.

Is is there a reason? If it's inferior as a knife blade, is there a better steel that is air quench? I'd prefer to not ship out for HT right now, since I'm keeping cost down as a new builder.
People still use it. Nothing wrong with it. More modern stainless alloys have replaced it for the most part. I think the reason is the cheap China knives use 440, but they don't say 440C. They are 440A & 440B which are worthless for knives. It basically gave it a bad reputation. More modern alloys like 154CM and S30V seem to be more popular. My two cents

No! I and many other custom makers and production makers as well use 440C! I also use CPM-154 which is sort of a Hybrid powder 440C.
But for Culinary & Hunters 440C is an excellent steel that keeps a toothy edge from the large carbide clumps and continues to cut in the field or kitchen.

440C is still one of the most common used air-hardening stainless steels around. If it came out today, it would be the new daring in price & performance.

Cool. I'm gonna stay with it for now. Thoughts on atm-34? That's also air quench right?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk