Wickett & Craig

Gliden07

After reading another thread on this forum about Leather and where to get it, I called Wicket & Craig. Man were they FANTASTIC! The woman I talked to (Cindy)listened to this total novice leather crafter that knows little to nothing about that craft, then offered to send me swatches of leather so I could make a better informed decision. Took my name address etc...now I'm waiting! She was GREAT. Once again the forum pulls thru!!

Yep. One of these days i’ll learn. I recently drove to Tandy and sorted through a huge stack of shoulders and found a piece that looked and felt awesome.

Went to use it and the pile on the back was a bit scruffy. No problem, I figured. I’ll sand it down some. Well a few minutes later using a 60 grit belt it looked like it was snowing in the shop. I was halfway through a piece of 9oz leather and the pile was not getting any firmer.

I took the leather back to Tandy. Fortunately they agreed to exchange it.

Vombrown, would you be interested in doing some Leather 101?

My biggest problem is that I don’t know enough about leather to know exactly what I’m looking for. I know when it’s too stiff, and now I know when it’s basically fluff- but I’m not exactly sure how to tell the difference anywhere in between.