Year in review, my first twelve months in the knife hobby.

Self Made Knives

Well, I've been a part of this hobby now for exactly one year. I first became interested in making a knife back in 1996 when I heard about a local knife making club. I went to one of the club meetings to check it out, but it wasn't a hands on kind of meeting, just in a room at a community building. Ran right out and bought a stick of O1. I did get very interested, but had just got married, had just bought my first house, had just started a new job, etc. The internet wasn't so great back then either, nothing like the info available today, so it just never happened.

Fast forward to 2014. I built a new shop in 2013 and was still unpacking, sorting, and came across that stick of O1 in a box. I realized I had been toting that stick around for close to twenty years. Time to follow through. Hopped on the now 20 yr older internet and got really fired up and in January built a filing jig.
My filing jig 1.jpg

Filed the bevels and profile of my first knife all by hand and was very proud of it (doesn't look so great to me now). Found an old pottery kiln to heat treat it with and tried my hand at home brew Parkerizing.

February through April, decided I didn't like filing bevels, contacted Wayne Coe before I ever heard of this forum, found him through Youtube. Got his plans and built a 2x72 which turned out pretty nice.
my grinder 5.jpg

April through May, finished grinder and started on knife #2, which I gave to my daughter for her 10th birthday. It was a little better than the first one.
molly knife 3.jpg

May to June, decided to go back and remake the first knife again, now with the 2x72. In this pic, the one with the handle wrapped was #1 and the naked one was #3. Being new, not paying attention, I accidentally ground a huge gouge in the top edge of the knife while trying to flatten the handle area, hence, the swedge and clipped point.
lancers.jpg