5160 & Black Walnut Camp/utility w/SS bolsters

P J 234

Hi guys,

I haven't been around all that much and have been a little slow making knife progress lately, but I finally have one finished (except for sharpening and sheath top-coating) that I plan to offer for sale sometime in the near future. This is a stout knife, being of 1/4" stock, but has a nice feel and balance with the tapered tang.

This is my first attempt at dovetailed stainless bolsters. This is also my first time doing a tapered tang, and I'd like to thank my friend and mentor Mike Mooney (www.moonblades.com) for showing me how to do so!

Here's some info about the knife:

-1/4" 5160 blade steel, stock removal
-blade length ~5"
-OAL ~9.5"
-Blade hand sanded to 600x, spine to 2000x
-Natural (not stabilized) figured Black Walnut with Birchwood Casey Tru-oil gunstock finish, rubbed to a satin finish
-1/8" Mosaic Pins
-stainless steel bolsters, buffed
-tapered tang

And the sheath:

-Tooled Wickett and Craig 7/8 oz. shoulder
-Hand saddle stitched
-Fiebings dark brown Pro Oil dye

I'd appreciate any feedback, critique, etc. on design, construction, material choices, etc. that anyone is willing to offer on the knife or sheath, either here or in PM if you prefer to make them privately. Thanks in advance for looking and for any comments!

P1020247.jpg

P1020229.jpg

P1020227.jpg

P1020223.jpg

P1020235.jpg

P1020248.jpg

I would have to guess you are a good student and have a good mentor.
I like the fit and finish in your photos. The handle shape is appealing, tapered tang a very nice touch, bolster looks great. To say more I would have to have it in hand,
and I do not want anymore boxes arriving at my house right now. Dozier

Looks GREAT overall! One thing that stands out for me is the finish on the tang. Many very good knives seem to skimp on that.