A2 steel

percy

I have been making knives for over 20 years now (Stock Removal) and have recently thought about forging I used to have a 110lb little giant but never used it and sold it years ago. My brother gave me a 50lb little giant for my birthday (I just cant sell it) and a forge. I already had a propane forge and a 50ton press and anvil , a large rolling mill that I put at a friends shop for him to use, and other such stuff to play with. My question is what steel would be best for someone to start to learn the process. I went to the Moran school in Washington Ark back in 95 but don't remember much. I have some A2 and thought that might work but not sure, hopefully someone can lead me in the right direction. I am going to add onto my shop before I go pick up the hammer, forge and 20inch disc sander. More stuff really isn't what I need right now, but at my age and condition if I don't start now I might as well forget it. this is what I do for a living so I can't spend all my time learning anymore because I have to pay the bills and feed the family.

Any help on steel type would be appreciated.

Percy

1084 or maybe 5160. Everyone seems to like the 1084 for how it acts. A2 would be better for stock removal. it hardens in air so forging it could be a problem.