Bevels and Finished Edge Question(s)

D

dseagren

Hi all. I'm new to the knifedogs forums.

I should preface with that I'm working on a flat grind with 1080 and hand tools for a hunter. After searching around the consensus for edge thickness and process seems to be:

1.) Before heat treat get edge to .030 to .040
2.) After heat treat get edge to .010
3.) Sharpen

These are of course simplified. Questions:

1.) So am I going to need to start out at 80 grit again after the heat treat in order to remove enough material to get the bevels down from .030 to .010? 2.) How hard will this be with hand sanding?
3.) Lastly, will sandpaper be the best way to put the sharp edge on without a grinder?

Thanks for the help, I appreciate it.
Dustin

I normally HT my blades with edges of .010 and through my normally finishing process take of about .002 off each side sometimes a bit more. With big choppers its .015. I use O-1/L-6 damascus for my blades and I HT in a digitally controoled evenheat kiln. This is for full flat ground blades. I sharpen with a 600 grit belt folled by a 1000 grit and a final touch with a fine ceramic stone and water.

Hey Dustin,

Like Delbert, I take mine down a little thiner if I'm sending it out to be heat treated in an atmospheric oven. Far less scale to deal with.

However, I home treat 99.9% of all my blades nowadays using my little home made forge. And I use 10** series steels almost exclusively. If you are home treating the way I do you have to leave more material as the scale will be heavier. Like .04-.05 or nearly the thickness of a dime. Especially if you use a home made charcoal forge.

Or if you are having it heat treated by vendor with suspect oven control I might go with the bigger .03-.04 numbers.

As far as hand sanding...yep! Afraid so. It's a pain in the rear compared to the annealed steel. LOL