CruForge V temper issues

Cody Hofsommer

I tried a couple blades of CFV with a 1475 with a 15 min soak and quench in parks. I had a RhC of 68 as quenched. After several rounds of tempering, I am still at 62-63 and last temp was 515 degrees. Each tempering was at least an hour in my evenheat. Just keep upping the temp?

Well, I'm kinda just experimenting with this steel. I see that the specs call for higher temps, but i had read of some getting good results with a soak at 1475. I'm not an expert at this HT stuff, but I thought that you normally wanted the lowest temp that got the it fully hard. I would say RhC68 as quenched is fully hard. That and I had two blades of CFV and three 1084/15n20 Damascus.

As as far as testing, Christmas came early, and I am using my new grizzly hardness tester. I am getting consistent results, spot on, on my test blocks, and I am checking on clean, bare, flat steel. My Damascus stuff came out just as I had figgured it would.

Hey Cody. I'd try cutting some things just to verify, maybe some rope or cardboard. Then if that goes well, bump the temps up like you said and keep trying.

Sounds like your testing is pretty consistent. That stuff will be an absolute BEAR to finish at 62/63.