Finishing grind, belts and grits and whatever else....

N.N

I'm about to make a new belt order and I think I'm going to try some stuff I've never tried before. I've watched a bunch of videos on the subject, but I was wondering if anyone would like to share what they use/do.

In the past I've done most of the grind with 40grit ceramic belts, then up to 80, then up to 120/150 pre heat treat. Then after, clean up with the 80, then 120 again. Then I'll usually go with a scotchbrite belt and up through some cork belts. This doesn't always work all that well and I find myself spending a lot of time trying to remove scratches from previous grits. A more recent attempt led me to hand sand with some 400grit and then go back to the cork and cork w/polish to finish and this worked a little better. But it looked more mirrored than a nice fine even satin finish. Honestly I'd prefer not to have to hand sand and this got me to thinking.

I'm thinking that with this new belt purchase i'm going to try a few things I've not tried yet in the higher grit department. I'm thinking maybe jflex 300ish and 600 before going to the cork for a polish. I also though I might get a few of those gator belts to see if I liked that finish. The gator belt at 500grit is going to be rougher than the jflex at 600...but which would leave a better satin finish? How much can you use a jflex or gator before it's worn out for a good finish (I ask this because I typically get a lot more use out of a 150 ceramic than an 80 and am still using cork and scotchbrite from who knows how many knives ago...I know that for every 5 40grit belts I need about 4 80 grits and 2 120s etc)

I just thought this would be a good time to see if anyone could give me some good input before I buy a bunch of stuff I don't need. So what's your typical belt progression for a nice satin finish...is it the same if you're going to etch it?