Homemade heat treat furnace WIP.

Tod Lowe

Ok. I started a thread about making a heat treat furnace and had a few replies but nobody had said they had tried this one.http://www.britishblades.com/home/articles.php?action=show&showarticle=31
I'm forging ahead anyway and will share my progress if anyone is interested. I'm just a hobbyist knife maker and I don't pretend to be an expert on anything so follow at your own risk.:D

The frame work is done.
I see now the best way to build this is lay the brick out and build it around the brick.
I didn't follow the instructions or dimensions from the link.I didn't see any reason to have the half bricks on the sides. I figured I only lost .75 width of inside room of the furnace by not cutting the bricks like the designer did. I don't see why my way wont work but we will see.

Here is the frame.... its pretty basic.

Last edited:
Hey don't stop now and don't wait for us. Keep building and posting. Looks great so far. What is the steel and diamentions?

Good project. I made one based on the same tutorial a few years back. It's been working well, though it needs a recondition and a new coil. Here's my setup:

IMG_6498.jpg

RandomPicsNathansShop034.jpg

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Nick actually pointed out your thread to me as he remembered my build. I'm just starting up over here, so I'll keep tabs on your build.