Looking for design critique and input

Sean Jones

It doesn't look like the design thread has been used for several months so I decided to post my inquiry here.

So here's what I've come up with. I'm planning on G-10 scales in black, blade made from AEB-L. I'll be sending it out for heat treat and will be grinding post heat treat. I looked through Murray Carters book 101 Knife designs and from that modified a previous design of mine.

I've thought about putting steel bolsters on it , but I'd like to keep it light and fast. This knife will be mainly used as a last ditch by the bed piece. In other words it may never get used at all (hopefully). She might carry it occasionally, but I doubt it

I've never worked with AEB-L before, so if anyone thinks that's not a good idea let me know. I chose it because I want a strong knife that can withstand a lot of abuse both just sitting and for it's potential use. I was thinking a RC hardness of 60? Also any suggestions on how to finish the blade. I'm leaning towards a dark patina, but I don't know if you can put a patina on AEB-L...sorry I didn't think about this part until just now.

Here's the design

Attachments

• EDC.pdf
    7.5 KB · Views: 52
Thanks for the input bladegrinder. Yes, that is basically the intention of the knife, self-defense. I'll see what I can do

EDC with guard .jpg

The top one is the new version. Does that make sense or should I start over from scratch?
Thanks for the input

Looks like there's the slightest "divot" in the belly of the blade. Is that intentional? I think the handle might be a little on the small/short size for that length of blade, even more so for a "defense" blade. Speaking of, the best "last ditch bed side piece" is a .45 with an integral weapon light, or maybe a pump shotgun with a good light. After that, I'd pick a baseball bat or a broom handle before I grabbed a knife.

The top one's profile looks ok but I'd extend the handle scales further forward.