Moutning C-face motor to table......

Chris Martin

Ok, total newb questions here.

Would I be a total idiot if I mounted a C-Face motor to my bench with something like this:
http://www.united-states-flag.com/ststmost12.html

I will use bolts to go through the strap instead of the tie down as shown.

Only reason I am asking is...I just scored a Coote but need a motor.

I have a guy willing to trade his 1HP Baldor C-Face motor but came off his old square wheel so it does not have an option to mount directly to my bench. I see there are mounts I can buy for $40 bucks or so. But this is just a temp solution to get me grinding until I get the 2HP Baldor I have been drooling over.

Hope I dont look like an idiot here, but hope it would work for a temp mount???unsureworking 1

Thanks for any info/tips or other solutions2thumbs

Chris

i know I wouldn't trust it.

Me either, too much torque rotation for those straps to make me comfortable. :(

Chris,

Do you have some 2" angle iron, and a 10" X 10" piece of flat plate, and a welder? If so, I can send you a picture of a bracket I made for a C face motor mount. ;)

Mike

Mike,

Thanks for your input!

Lets just say I am very limited in my fabrication prowess....lol I dont have anything that could help me rig a mount together IE welder etc. Best I saw was $40 for a little old C-Face mount. But, since this will be a very short lived motor I was trying to go cheap. But I understand cheap doesnt always=success or safety.

Chris

Me either, too much torque rotation for those straps to make me comfortable. :(

Chris,

Do you have some 2" angle iron, and a 10" X 10" piece of flat plate, and a welder? If so, I can send you a picture of a bracket I made for a C face motor mount. ;)

Mike

LOL.....I hear ya bud. Thats why I ask the pro's even if I look like an idiot in the process:D

Thanks again Mike2thumbs

Chris