My First Anvil ?

JON108

Looking at a Peddinghaus #5 anvil.
I like that they are forged. They have a good reputation.
I am a beginner with some experience at the forge.
I have been using rail track vertically, and I am looking to upgrade to a real anvil.
The piece of rail is about 30” long and about 100 lbs.
The anvil is 77 lbs.
Thanks for any advice given
J

Are you doing any general blacksmithing work or just knives?

I'm sure the Peddinghouse is fine quality, but they are plenty spendy for the size, and features that aren't great for blades as much as general blacksmithing.

I would suggest going bigger than the #5, at only 77lbs it's well below what I consider to be "the minimum" weight for any level of Bladesmithing/Blacksmithing.
The bare minimum I recommend is 125lb..... and even that is a bit light in my book. Why? It's about the return on your effort. Anvils all work off of the principle of rebound.... meaning that whatever energy you put into a blow, a given amount is rebounded through the anvil, making you have to exert less to achieve the same amount of work. That is.... depending on the specific anvil, and it's level of quality! Assuming that each anvil is "good", the heavier the anvil, the higher the return on your input effort.

Another thing is this..... IF you buy a 77lb anvil, you will get frustrated with it in short order, and will be looking for a larger one, and so on, and so on, until you decide to stop. As with a grinder, spend the money ONCE, get something (in this case LARGER) then what you think you'll ever need, and you'll be set. I just know from experience that when people buy small anvils, it never works out the way they'd hoped. ;)

Alec Steele is doing Pre-Orders for his new anvil. Its 140LB, forged in the good ole USA. Bit spendy at $1400 though! Looks like a nice piece however! And at 140 it can ship UPS.

Are you doing any general blacksmithing work or just knives?