Quench ant for 01

bmills

I tried the search but didn't really confirm anything.

I heard of Chevron Texaco, McMaster Carr, Parks, AAA, and Brownells. I would prefer a known quenchant as opposed to vegetable oils, etc. Although I am new at this, I think this would be the best procedure for me.

Can someone recommend something and if so, could you include if it needs to be "fast, medium, or slow"?

Please forgive me for the simplistic questions.

Bill

I've quenched O1 in ATF and canola and both worked ok. I think you're "supposed" to use Parks AAA, that is if you can find it anywhere. Fortunately, O1 seems to be pretty easy to HT to me. If you find a good source for the Parks, post it on here if you don't mind.

I've quenched O1 in ATF and canola and both worked ok. I think you're "supposed" to use Parks AAA, that is if you can find it anywhere. Fortunately, O1 seems to be pretty easy to HT to me. If you find a good source for the Parks, post it on here if you don't mind.

I'm researching. I read a thread somewhere that states McMaster Carr 28 second is good for 01 and they have 5 gallons for about $78.00 in stock.

bill

I tried the search but didn't really confirm anything.

I heard of Chevron Texaco, McMaster Carr, Parks, AAA, and Brownells. I would prefer a known quenchant as opposed to vegetable oils, etc. Although I am new at this, I think this would be the best procedure for me.

Can someone recommend something and if so, could you include if it needs to be "fast, medium, or slow"?

Please forgive me for the simplistic questions.

Bill