Sheath Positioning

David Wesner

What are your rules on the position of a sheath in relation to the body ?

For instance, when I make a "vertical hanging belt sheath" I try to end up with a loop that is equal to, or just a bit below the handle of the sheathed knife.
Reason being, I've found that a sheath that positions the handle too high above the belt tends to poke me in the ribs when moving around, bending, sitting etc.

I understand a sheath that hangs too low can also get in the way.

What are your thoughts when considering sheath design and end positioning, for vertical belt sheaths, angled sheaths, horizontal/concealed carry type, etc. ?

unsure

Good topic.I typically for my knives, try to keep the handle about 1"-1 1/2" above the belt.But since I do sheaths for others,I have found that varies alot.Two of my best customers are totally opposite, one likes them very hi-ride and the other likes his an 1" or two below the belt.Dave 2thumbs

We'll I'm still a newb in this arena so my answer is JUST ASK DCknives ! LOL.

Seriously though It is a personal matter to the owner of the sheath however the size and intended use of the knife is a determining factor IMHO. Longer blades need to ride lower on the belt so it's not difficult to remove and insert knife into sheath.

My very first knife and sheath was a kit knife 3 1/2" clip point hunter. Due to the length of the blade and shortness of the handle I chose to make the sheath a bit of a high ride for several reasons.
First- due to the size the rib poking wasn't really an issue.
Second- It was full tang 440C and mirror polished and a little bit of high ride made the handle easily concealable under a t-shirt or waist length coat. No hunter wants anything hanging on his belt that can cause a glare or reflect sunlight !

This may sound a little silly and it is but wrap the body of the sheath around the knife and hold it up to my side to get an idea of where it FEELS right.