Tong choices or big pliers maybe?

Absinthe

I have a Jen-Ken Air Bath 16 (Vertical Knife Kiln) HT furnace on order.

I have no interest in becoming a blacksmith, forging my own billets etc.., so I have no gearing up for a forge and associated paraphernalia. It occurs to me that is the opposite of most people who start with a forge and add in a HT oven. So with a vertical furnace, a pin is put through a tang hole and the blade is balanced on a kiln furniture grate vertically with the blade/point hanging down into the main chamber.

I assume if I had forging capabilities, I would simply grab one of my myriad of tongs and use them. But that not being the case, I believe I need a set of tongs. It would seem they need to be able to grasp small blades and manipulate them in a quench tank without losing control. However, being neither a blacksmith nor a farrier I have no experience in what to ask for or buy.

Suggestions?

Okay, I ordered a pair of V-bit tongs from Ken's Iron. Wish me luck :)
I didn't mention Ken's Iron tongs because you mentioned having no desire for forging. Isn't all his tongs in kit form? I might have missed the completed tongs. Those Vee bit tongs are normally best for round stock rather than flat such as knife tangs.

Let us know how they turn out - Ken's got good stuff.

Last edited:
I didn't mention Ken's Iron tongs because you mentioned having no desire for forging. Isn't all his tongs in kit form? I might have missed the completed tongs. Those Vee bit tongs are normally best for round stock rather than flat such as knife tangs.

Let us know how they turn out - Ken's got good stuff.
I discussed specifically what I was doing with Ken. These were his suggestion. Funny thing, I was thinking about retrieving the knife one way and he suggested a different way.