Yet another NWGS Motor question

cbeatti2

Hi. I bought the plans for the NWGS and figured I would see if I could find a decently priced motor first. Unfortunately I wasn't able to find a 1.5HP 1750 RPM motor but did find a new 2.0 HP 2350 RPM (115/230) one. The NWGS plans do mention a 3450 RPM motor will work but doesn't go into much more details. I suspect it is simple a matter of finding a larger pulley for the drive wheel side or should I have other concerns about this motor? What do you think...am I in business or did I make a bad purchase?

Here are the specs:

2 HP
115/230
15 / 7.5 Amps
3450 RPM
Ph 1
Class E (just read that Class E motors are a higher efficiency version of class B)

Model # LR63420 Model D (It appears to be a motor for a fairly nice table saw)

Thanks!

I don't have that type of grinder, nor am I an expert on the mechanical side of it, but I am a Master Electrician by trade so I do know the electrical side of it. Usually the 3450 rpm motors would be great with a VFD or variable frequency drive that way you have a larger range of rpms to run. I think you will be fine with it on your set up, you will just have to size your drive pulley accordingly. Say you want so many belt feet per minute using a 2" pulley with the 1725 rpm motor, you would have to change it to a 4" pulley on the 3450 rpm motor to get the same speed. Also use 230 volt to supply the motor instead of 115. Motors love voltage. It will run quieter, stronger and more efficient. Motors pull quite a bit more to start than they do while running. Take your FLC or full load current which is the nameplate rating you stated. At 230 it is 7.5 , take that times 1.25% and that's the amount of amperage it will pull when starting. You end up with 9.3 amps. The breaker will need to be sized accordingly also. Take your FLC times 250% or 2.50, you end up with 18.75 amps. So now we know you need a 20 amp double pole breaker, cause we want to round up our breaker size because it's a branch circuit.