And here we go

JAWilliams

KNIFEMAKER
Well here is the first pics of getting power to my shop. I am using a square D box. I had to have my father in law punch a new hole. As you can tell there is one very short wire.

PICT0002.jpg

Getting ready to mark for bolts.

PICT0003.jpg

Holes drilled and bolted to the wall.

PICT0005.jpg

Well looks level.

PICT0004.jpg

Wired up for power.

PICT0006.jpg

Well now to contact the electric company. If it is alright I will keep posting here with my progress.

Thanks for looking,

James

Congrats! Getting dedicated power for your shop is an exciting project. There's nothing quite like looking around an sayin', "Dang, this ROCKS!! No more extension cords running all my tools off one outlet!" :)

Running lights and outlets is one thing, but installing a new box, well...

I'm not a pro, but frankly your pics frighten me, friend. I have heavier-gauge, better-insulated wire running to the toaster in my kitchen, than you show running to the box that's going to supply your whole shop. There are laws and codes for this sort of thing for a reason. Mainly, so people don't burn themselves and their neighbors to a crisp.

I presume you're running power from your house to your shop. How many amps are serving the house, and how many are you running to your shop? I see a 100-amp breaker in your pics, but are you really getting 100 amps into the box safely? Did you assume that a $10 breaker will take care of all your power needs? Is your shop wired properly to deal with that kind of amperage? Is the rest of the wiring in your shop noodle-thin as shown?